Allan Morgan Paintings

       PURE GOLD: Allan Morgan’s warm landscapes pull me right in.  What I love the most about these paintings is the simplicity in subject, stroke, and color.  There’s just enough visual information to create these seascape images.   The first image is my favorite.  It provides the most familiar feeling to me, gentle waves, boats offshore, all basking in the warm of the sun. The backgrounds are so simple, almost non existent and there is almost no difference in water and sky, must like in reality, only in this reality, the colors are warm: almond, wheat, brown, gold. I’m a huge fan of color, these paintings are sort-of off my usual taste as far as the color pallet goes, but they are quite lovely.   I especially like the reflections, the make the work more impressionistic.

Leave a Reply

