Photography 4 Portfolio Proves Challenging

So in Tim’s Photography IV class we were asked to select 8 images of our best work last week.  I just finished selecting my images and I feel completely unsatisfied, but relieved it’s over.  I can’t explain how difficult this tiny assignment was for me.  As of now, I have over 4,000 images on my hard drive, so you can image how excruciating reviewing these photographs must have been. After I compiled 25 images into a portfolio folder, I finally narrowed it down to the 8 images needed 

The most difficult challenge I faced had very little to do with the monotonous task of exploring my plethora of photos, but it involved some tough analysis.  I never realized this before, but so far in my photography experiences I’ve mainly analyzed my work on  partly the technical side, but mostly on the aesthetics and content.  It is EXTREMELY difficult to separate myself from my work- removing the subject or content, and purely looking at form or how this image was taken or presented.  I never realized how much thought could go into looking at a photograph.  (In my spare time) I usually take photos of things I find interesting, or visually pleasing, but I never concentrated on what makes a great photograph, well, great.

Some technical aspects I considered were rudimentary, but important.  Things such as composition, lighting, dust, scratches, impurities, depth of field, exposure, camera position are very important, and help contribute to making top quality images.  It was this technical aspect that drove me to the decisions I made, not the subjects.  I had to choose good photographs, which were a little different from many images that loved, but could not choose because they just weren’t good enough.

My point is this, I’m thinking that I need to focus less on subject and more on form and technical aspects of image making.  Many of my photos lacked some very basic aspects, and therefore fell short.  Now I will be more aware of the details that make up the images I photograph so that i can become a better photographer.

Leave a Reply

