Home Made Cherry Tomato Sauce

Home Made Cherry Tomato Sauce

 

So a few weeks ago I tried getting rid of my hundreds of cherry tomatoes by turning them into a sauce. I used almost a quart of tomatoes so if you need to unload on your tomato crop heres what I used:

1 quart tomatoes
1/4 clove of garlic, finely chopped
1/2 small white onion, finely chopped
1 tbsp pesto
pinch of salt and pepper
2 tbsp tomato paste
1 pinch of sugar
1 tb olive oil

* I processed and cooked the garlic and onion first, then I processed the tomatoes, leaving them in chunks. I added the rest of the ingredients and let it cook down on the stove for a few hours, stirring on occasion. The sauce tastes extremely fresh and unlike canned, store-bought tomato sauce. Be careful not to over process the tomatoes or it will get too watery, don’t worry about the seeds, they are too small and too many to remove so just leave them in. It’s not the greatest sauce I’ve ever had, but it gets rid of a lot of tomatoes in 1 day.

Leave a Reply

